Community Search
Evaluation & Management Documentation, Coding & Auditing for Texas Rural Hospital (CAH & PPS)
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Evaluation & Management  Documentation, Coding & Auditing for Texas Rural Hospital (CAH & PPS)

 Export to Your Calendar 9/8/2020
When: September 8, 2020
9:00am - 3:00pm CST
Where: Live Virtual Training
Texas
United States
Contact: Julia Scott


Online registration is available until: 9/8/2020
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Sponsored by the Texas Department of Agriculture State Office of Rural Health

  • Open to Texas Rural Hospitals (CAH & PPS) Only (All Others will be Cancelled)
  • Small Rural Hospital Improvement Program (SHIP) eligible hospitals will be given registration priority
  • Virtual Live Training - You will be emailed access the day before the class

 

E&M Documentation, Coding & Auditing Boot Camp -September 8, 2020

Start Time: 10am EST, 9am CST, 8am MST, 7am PST

End Time: 4:00 EST, 3:00 CST, 2:00 MST, 1:00 PST

 

OVERVIEW

This interactive 1 day training is intended for healthcare practitioners, medical billers, coders, auditors, office managers and IT professionals involved with authoring clinical documentation, generating E&M progress notes, auditing professional physician service claims and maintaining a healthy revenue cycle. The Evaluation and Management (E&M) curriculum is designed to assist with the  development and mastery of the necessary skill set to successfully report and audit E&M services. This education and training is designed to promote compliance and minimize the risk associated with post-payment review and 3rd party audit exposure. There will be a heavy focus on the proper reporting of outpatient E&M services (e.g., 99201-99215) but we will also cover various preventive services and proper reporting of E&M services to Medicare during the COVID-19 pandemic and public health emergency.

 

AGENDA 

  • Overview of Evaluation and Management service CPT codes,
  • Understanding the current framework used to determine levels of service and what coming in 2021
  • Defining time in the outpatient vs inpatient settings
  • Medical necessity, the chief complaint and/or nature of presenting problem will be carefully discussed
  • History (subjective) under current framework vs 2021 applications
  • Examination (objective) under current framework vs 2021 applications
  • Medical Decision Making (MDM) will be emphasized current framework vs 2021 application
  • Discuss the elimination of CPT code 99201 for 2021
  • Discuss specific times associated with outpatient E&M codes 99202-99205 and 99211-99215), effective January 1, 2021
  • We will discuss prolonged service codes (e.g., +99354-+99357) and a new code intended for use only with CPT codes 99205 or 99215.
  • Preventive and Problem-Oriented E&M services (e.g., IPPE and AWV)
  • Q&A will be address throughout the interactive learning session 

Attendee Responsibilities:  Each attendee is expected to present to class with the following: 2020 CPT (AMA Professional Edition strongly encouraged.  The Texas State Office of Rural Health states that SHIP hospitals may use their 2020 SHIP funds to purchase the materials for this training course.)


CEU– 5.5 CEUs approved by AAPC & ArchProCoding

CME – 5.5 (Continuing Medical Education) Credits for MD, DO, NP, PA, RN:

*This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and Policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint providership of the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine and Association for Rural & Community Health Professional Coding.  The University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education to physicians. The University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 5.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

  

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


RELATED PRODUCTS

© ARHPC | All Rights Reserved

ARHPC is a division of Universal Medical & Compliance, LLC
P.O. Box 1405 Tucker, GA 30085

Education :: Certification :: Audit Support

 

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal